

Newberry County Registration and Election Commission 1872 Wilson Rd. PO Box 147 Newberry, SC 29108 (803) 321-2121



Board Members

Fax (803) 321-2122

John Glasgow, Chairman Samuel Price, Jr., Secretary Doretha C. Simpson

Martha Waller

Brenda Fulmer, Vice-Chairman Henry B. Summer Tony White

DIRECTOR

DEPUTY DIRECTOR Sheli Madray

January 8th, 2024

The Newberry County Registration and Election Board met on Monday, January 8th, 2023, at 1:00 pm at the election office.

Chairman John Glasgow called the meeting to order, and Sam Price gave the invocation.

Board Members present were Chairman John Glasgow, Vice-Chairman Brenda Fulmer, Doretha Simpson, Henry Summer, Tony White, Secretary Sam Price, and Martha Waller. Deputy Director Sheli Madray was also in attendance.

The quorum was established by Chairman John Glasgow.

Tony White made the motion to approve the agenda for the January 8th, 2023, Board meeting. Henry Summer seconded, and the agenda was approved as written.

Martha Waller made the motion to approve the minutes from the December 11th, 2023, Board meeting. Brenda Fulmer seconded, and the minutes were approved as written.

Deputy Director Sheli Madray reported the Poll Worker Training will be held in Room #NN123 at Piedmont Technical College on the following dates from 10:00am-12:00pm: January 10th, 11th, 17th, and 18th, 2024. Assistance in office coverage is as follows: January 10th; Doretha Simpson, January 11th; Tony White, January 17th; Brenda Fulmer, January 18th; Sam Price.

Early Voting in office: Democratic Presidential Preference Primary January 22nd-February 2nd, 2024, 8:30am-6:00pm. Closed Sunday January 28th, 2024. Early Voting in office: Republican Presidential Preference Primary February 12th-February 22nd, 2024, 8:30am-6:00pm. Closed Sunday February 18th and Monday 19th, 2024. Combined Polling Locations (see attached) were released.

Little Mountain Town Council Special Election – We have received no documentation as of Monday, January 8th, 2024. S.C.A.R.E. Conference – No agenda released yet.

Deputy Director Sheli Madray has requested contact information from each Board Member for their Area Precinct locations. She also announced to the Board the 2024 Federal Mileage reimbursement rate increased to \$.67 per mile. The Board was also reminded to complete each of their Statement of Economic Interest Form due by March 30th, 2024.

2024 Board Meeting Dates were distributed updating Monday, March 4th, 2024, to Monday, March 11th, 2024, due to S.C.A.R.E. Conference. Sam Price made the motion to approve the 2024 Board Meeting Dates. Martha Waller seconded, and the updated 2024 Board Meeting Dates were approved.

2024 Election of Board Officers:

Chairman, Tony White; Sam Price made the motion, and Martha Waller seconded, for Tony White to represent as our new Board Chairman.

Vice-Chairman, Henry Summer; Doretha Simpson made the motion, and Martha Waller seconded, for Henry Summer to represent as our new Board Vice-Chairman.

Secretary, Martha Waller; Doretha Simpson made the motion, and Sam Price seconded, for Martha Waller to represent as our new Board Secretary.

There being no further business, Chairman John Glasgow asked for a motion to adjourn. Doretha Simpson made the motion to adjourn, seconded by Martha Waller. The meeting was adjourned at 2:15 p.m. The next regular scheduled meeting will be Monday, January 8th, 2024, at 1:00 PM.

Precincts	Polling Places	Physical Address
Newberry Ward 1	Bethlehem Baptist Church	1501 College Street, Newberry
Newberry Ward 2	Bethlehem Baptist Church	1501 College Street, Newberry
Newberry Ward 3	St. Mark's Catholic Church	928 Boundary Street, Newberry
Newberry Ward 4	St. Mark's Catholic Church	928 Boundary Street, Newberry
Newberry Ward 5	St. Mark's Catholic Church	928 Boundary Street, Newberry
Helena	Helena Community Center	902 Giff Street, Newberry
Oakland	Newberry Housing Authority	y 3589 Grant Avenue, Newberry
Beth-Eden	Woodmen of the World	1420 Civitan Road, Newberry
Kinards-Jalapa	Bush River Fire Station	5627 Bush River Road, Newberry
Bush River	Bush River School	9726 Bush River Road, Kinards
Chappells	Chappells Fire Station	3218 SC Hwy 39, Chappells
Silverstreet	Silverstreet Community Center 1233 Main Street, Silverstreet	
Hartford	Colony Lutheran Church	48 Colony Church Road, Newberry
Newberry Ward 6	New Covenant Church	2304 Johnstone Street, Newberry
Mt. Bethel Garmany	National Guard Armory	275 General Henderson Road, Newberry
Johnstone	Metropolitan Baptist Church	n 715 Shrine Club Road, Newberry
Prosperity City	Prosperity Train Depot	117 Grace Street, Prosperity
Prosperity Outside	Prosperity Train Depot	117 Grace Street, Prosperity
Stoney Hill	Stoney Hill Substation	88 Harmon Quarters Road, Prosperity
O'Neal	O'Neal Fire Station	1350 Ira Kinard Road, Prosperity
Fairview	Fairview Fire Station	149 Seibert Road, Prosperity
Wheeland	Community Center	1128 Wheeland School Road, Little Mountain
Little Mountain	Derrick Community Center	16 Depot Street, Little Mountain
Peak	Town Hall/FD Complex	56 River Street, Peak
Pomaria	Pomaria Recreation Center	138 Folk Street, Pomaria
St. Phillips-Jollystree	etSt. Phillips Fire Station	166 Mud Creek Road, Prosperity
Consolidated #5	Fire Station	3464 SC Hwy 34, Pomaria
Maybinton	Fire Substation	296 Tyger River Road, Whitmire
Whitmire City	Whitmire Community Center	122 Glenn Street, Whitmire
Whitmire Outside	Whitmire Community Center	122 Glenn Street, Whitmire