

Newberry County Registration and Election Commission 1872 Wilson Rd. PO Box 147 Newberry, SC 29108 (803) 321-2121



Board Members

Fax (803) 321-2122

Tony White, Chairman Henry B. Summer, Vice-Chairman Martha Waller, Secretary Brenda Fulmer John Glasgow Samuel Price, Jr. Doretha C. Simpson

Interim DIRECTOR Sheli Madray

DEPUTY DIRECTOR

February 29th, 2024

The Newberry County Registration and Elections Board met Thursday, February 29, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. at the election office. Chairman Tony White called the meeting to order, and Henry Summer opened with prayer.

Commissioners present were Chairman Tony White, Brenda Fulmer, John Glasgow, Doretha Simpson, Henry Summer, and Martha Waller. Commission Sam Price was absent. Also present was Interim Director Sheli Madray.

A quorum was established with six board members present.

Martha Waller made the motion that the board convene as the county board of canvassers for the certification of the Republican Presidential Preference Primary held Saturday, February 24, 2024. Doretha Simpson seconded. The motion was approved.

Chairman White administered the constitutional oath to board members and Secretary Martha Waller administered the oath to Chairman White. Commissioners then signed the State of South Carolina County Board of Canvassers Members Oath form.

The Summary Results Report was distributed to each board member. There was one Provisional ballot that was qualified to be counted. Brenda Fulmer made the motion to accept the Provisional vote. John Glasgow seconded. The motion was approved. The vote was included in the totals for the election. The canvas checklist has been completed. John Glasglow made the motion to certify the election results. Doretha Simpson seconded. The motion was approved. Commissioners then signed the Statement and Return of Votes for the Republican Presidential Preference Primary held February 24, 2024, form.

The hand audit was conducted on Monday, February 26, 2024, and results were sent to the State Election Commission.

Martha Waller made the motion to adjourn seconded by Doretha Simpson. The motion was approved. The meeting adjourned at 10:16 am.