

Newberry County Registration and Election Commission 1872 Wilson Rd. PO Box 147 Newberry, SC 29108 (803) 321-2121



Board Members

Fax (803) 321-2122

Tony White, Chairman Henry B. Summer, Vice-Chairman Martha Waller, Secretary Brenda Fulmer John Glasgow Samuel Price, Jr. Doretha C. Simpson

Interim DIRECTOR
Sheli Madray

DEPUTY DIRECTOR

March 28, 2024

The Newberry County Registration and Elections Board met Thursday, March 28, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. at the election office. Chairman Tony White called the meeting to order, and Doretha Simpson opened with prayer.

Commissioners present were Chairman Tony White, Brenda Fulmer, Doretha Simpson, and Martha Waller. Commissioners John Glasgow, Sam Price and Henry Summer were absent. Also present was Interim Director Sheli Madray.

A quorum was established with four board members present.

Martha Waller made the motion that the board convene as the county board of canvassers for the certification of the Little Mountain Town Council Seats 1 and 2 Special Election held Tuesday, March 26, 2024. Doretha Simpson seconded. The motion was approved.

Interim Director Sheli Madray administered the constitutional oath to the board members. Commissioners then signed the State of South Carolina County Board of Canvassers Members Oath form.

The Summary Results Report was distributed to each board member. There were no Provisional ballots, no Failsafe ballots and no absentee ballots. Candidate Patrick Bowers received 27 votes, Candidate A. Lane Attaway received 19 votes and Candidate Mary Buntin received 19 votes. The canvas checklist has been completed. Doretha Simpson made the motion to certify the election results. Brenda Fulmer seconded. The motion was approved. Commissioners then signed the Statement and Return of Votes for the Little Mountain Town Council Seats 1 and 2 Special Election held March 26, 2024, form.

A runoff election will be held on Tuesday, April 9, 2024, between A. Lane Attaway and Mary Buntin with early voting on Wednesday, April 3, 2024, through Monday, April 10, 2024, at the election office. Election certification will be held on Thursday, April 11, 2024, at 10:00 am at the Newberry County Registration and Election office.

There being no further business, Doretha Simpson made the motion to adjourn seconded by Martha Waller. The motion was approved. The meeting adjourned at 10:25 am.