

Newberry County Registration and Election Commission 1872 Wilson Rd. PO Box 147

Newberry, SC 29108 (803) 321-2121 Fax (803) 321-2122



Board Members

John Glasgow, Chair Samuel Price, Jr., Secretary Doretha Simpson Brenda Fulmer, Vice-Chair Henry Summer Martha Waller

DIRECTOR Initra Williams <u>DEPUTY DIRECTOR</u> Sheli Maddalena

September 11th, 2023

The Newberry County Registration and Election Board met on Monday, September 11th, 2023, at 1:00 p.m. at the election office.

Chairman John Glasgow called the meeting to order, and Henry Summer gave the invocation.

The quorum was established by Chairman John Glasgow.

Board members present were Chairman John Glasgow, Vice-Chair Brenda Fulmer, Doretha Simpson, Henry Summer, Secretary Sam Price, and Martha Waller. Also in attendance were Director Initra Williams and Deputy Director Sheli Maddalena.

Doretha Simpson made the motion to approve the agenda for the September 11th, 2023, Board meeting. Martha Waller seconded the motion. The agenda was approved as written.

Martha Waller made the motion to approve the minutes from the August 7th, 2023, Board meeting and from the September 7th, 2023 CANVASS and certification of County Council Seat 2 Republican Primary. Doretha Simpson seconded the motion. The minutes were approved as written.

Old Business:

Director Initra Williams summarized the completion of the Newberry County Seat 2 Republican Primary. She also advised the Board of the successful replacement for the Hartford Precinct with Colony Lutheran Church.

New Business:

Director Initra Williams discussed the November 7th, 2023 Elections:

Newberry County Seat 2 General Election

Town of Prosperity Council – 2 Seats

City of Newberry Mayor

Newberry City Council District 1

Newberry City Council District 3

Newberry City Council District 5

17 Precincts including Wards 1-6, Beth-Eden, Fairview, Hartford, Johnstone, Little Mountain, Mt. Bethel Garmany,

O'Neal, Oakland, Prosperity City, Stoney Hill, and Wheeland

Early Voting - October 23rd – November 3rd, 2023

Preference Primaries are set for February, 2024 – Democratic; February 3nd, 2024 and Republican; February 24th, 2024 General Election will be held on May 1st, 2024

There being no further business, Martha Waller made the motion to adjourn, seconded by Sam Price.

The meeting adjourned at 1:30 p.m. The next regular scheduled meeting will be Monday, October 2nd, 2023, at 1:00 p.m.