County Council

Left to Right:  Henry H. Livingston, III, Chairman; William D. Waldrop; Scott Cain; Dr. Harriett Rucker; Kirksey Koon, Vice-Chairman; Travis Reeder; and Steven C. Stockman

Newberry County has the Council-Administrator form of government and is generally governed by the provisions of Articles 1 and 7 of Chapter 9 of Title 4 of the South Carolina Code of Laws.

The County Council consists of 7 members elected from 7 defined single-member election districts for 4-year terms, except as otherwise provided by S.C. Code ยง4-9-90.